WHAT A RELIEF!

Posted on April 9, 2011

0


MALE, April 9 (HNS) – Reputed Maldivian singer Aminath Shaany, the first local female artist to release an album in collaboration with an international group, has quit music and singing after wearing the veil. Shaany told Haveeru that she ended her career – a decision she said was taken years ago – ahead of a show which was scheduled to be held next month but was later cancelled. “I also request that my songs not be broadcast even on TV. I don’t want to be seen even on a stage,” she said. “Theoretically speaking, singing does not give any pleasure to me. Moreover, singing is not a good thing to do. In fact, I’ve been staying away from singing for about two years.” Shaany, who is married and has a kid, earned her reputation in Sri Lanka after she released an album in collaboration with famed Sri Lankan artist, Iraj.

Posted in: True